Duckie winners 2015The Duck of Minerva crew developed in 2012 the Online Achievement In International Studies [OAIS] Awards, which came to be known as the Duckies.  At the subsequent ISA meetings, the Duck of Minerva, in concert with SAGE, have held receptions to award the Duckies and to present short “ignite” talks that serve as spoken blog posts.   In 2015, the ISA recognized the Online Media Caucus, which serves to promote the use of online media by scholars of international studies in their research, teaching, service and public engagement.  The OMC is taking over the OAIS Awards, starting with those to be handed out in 2016.

General Eligibility

OAIS awards are intended for English-language international-studies media  whose output has significant scholarly content.  Thus far, the awards have focused on blogs.  We are in the midst of figuring out additional non-blogging categories.

  • Blogs are defined as “web-page[s] that [are] subject to minimal or no external editing, provide online commentary, and [are] presented in reverse chronological order with hyperlinks to other online sources.” Farrell and Drezner (2008: 16) [PDF].
  • International Studies covers the issues and concerns associated with the study of international relations, comparative politics, and foreign policy. In general, blogs devoted to the internal politics of a single country do not fall within the purview of the awards, but blogging devoted to transnational, regional, and foreign interactions of single countries may be considered for relevant awards.
  • Scholarly content should be understood in broad terms to include output that bears directly on international-studies scholarship. To be considered for an OAIS award, a blog need not be exclusively or mainly concerned with disciplinary debates, but rather must demonstrate an ongoing interest in and awareness of international-studies scholarship. The possession of academic degrees  is irrelevant to the criteria for scholarly content.

Officers of the Online Media Caucus are ineligible for OAIS awards, although the collective blogs in which they participate are eligible.

Specific Awards

  • The Special Achievement OAIS prize is awarded to a scholar who has made, in the judgment of the award committee, an outstanding contribution to the development, legitimation, and forwarding of online media in international studies.  The recipient of this award will be selected by the officers of the Online Media Caucus.
  • The Best Blog (Group) OAIS prize is awarded to a blog with two or more permanent contributors that demonstrates a consistent track record of exemplary international-studies content over the relevant period.
  • The Best Blog (Individual) OAIS prize is awarded to a blog with a single contributor that demonstrates a consistent track record of exemplary international-studies content over the relevant period.
  • The Best Blog Post OAIS prize is awarded for a single post, published in the  relevant period that contains the best written and most substantively compelling prose on an international-studies topic or topics.
  • The Most Promising New Blog (Group or Individual) OAIS prize is awarded to a recently founded blogthat displays the most promise for ongoing contribution to the intellectual vibrancy of the international-studies blogging community.
  • As we move from Duck of Minerva to the Online Media, we are likely to develop new categories (best tweet of the year?) and revisit old ones as our remit is beyond blogging.

Award Process:

  • Each year, the Online Media Caucus officers will use the internet to solicit nominations from the membership of the Online Media Caucus for all categories except Special Achievement.  Look for this in late October or early November.
  • Once nominations are received, the Online Media Caucus will post the nominations and hold elections via the internet.    These will take place in early January.
  • Any ties or controversies will be settled by the officers of the Online Media Caucus.

Previous Winners (incomplete, to be updated shortly)

Special Achievement:

Dan Nexon, 2015

Best Blog (Group):
The Monkey Cage, 2015
Political Violence @ A Glance, 2014
The Disorder of Things, 2013

Best Blog (Individual):

Dart Throwing Chimp, 2015

Daniel Drezner, 2013

Most Promising New Blog:
Allison Beth Hodgkins, 2015

Political Violence @ A Glance, 2013

Best Blog Post:

Erica Chenoweth, “Nonviolent Conflicts in 2014 That you May have Missed Because They Were Nonviolent” (Political Violence at a Glance), 2015

John M. Hobson, “Eurocentrism, Racism: What’s in a Word?” (The Disorder of Things), 2013