The Social Construction of Knowledge

by Peter

24 August 2006, 1635 EDT

Everyone knows that there are 9 planets:

Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, and Pluto

which you remember by saying My Very Eager Mother Just Served Us Nine Pickels (or some variation on the theme.

Except that now, there are only 8 planets.

Pluto just got demoted.

So, a once critical fact, an immutable truth about the nature of the solar system has now changed.

Plus, I really feel bad for all those Pluto scholars out there who once studied the most mysterious planet and now just study a dwarf object or whatever. Its kind of like being a specialist on the Soviet General staff in the late 80’s….
(not really, but I couldn’t resist the obscure reference)

Filed as: